skip navigation

Four Tigers Honored by TD Club of Richmond

Will Ferrell

RICHMOND, VA-The Touchdown Club of Richmond announced the winners of its 2013 College Football Players of the Year awards, and Hampden-Sydney was well represented with four winners. Senior offensive lineman Will Ferrell (Blythewood, SC/Blythewood) was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year; Junior receiver Holton Walker (Lynchburg, VA/Brookville) tied UVA-Wise's James Long for the Offensive End/Wide Receiver of the Year; senior cornerback Zach Morgan (Virginia Beach, VA/Ocean Lakes) was named the Defensive Back of the Year; and junior linebacker Josh Doggett (Mechanicsville, VA/Hanover) was named the Linebacker of the Year.

All college football players throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia are eligible for selection.  After soliciting and receiving nominations from college coaches, Club members vote on the awards.  The honors are divided into seven positional categories within each of two groups: One for NCAA Division I (FBS and FCS) programs, and one for Division II, Division III, NAIA, and USCAA programs.

Randolph-Macon's Will McGhee was named the Offensive Back of the Year; Virginia State's Bryant Frazier and Ronald Lewis tied for Defensive Lineman of the Year; and Christopher Newport's Mason Studer was named the Specialist of the Year.

Ferrell, a 2012 AFCA All-American and three-time First Team All-ODAC selection, once again helped the Tigers to one of the top offenses in the conference. Ferrell helped the Tigers lead the conference in scoring offense (35.5 ppg), total offense (447.4 ypg), and passing offense (285.7 pypg). The Tigers also have also rushed for 161.6 yards-per-game.

Walker, a two-time First Team pick and 2012 Lanier Award finalist, currently leads the nation in receiving yards-per-game (141.7 yards-per-game) and total receiving yards with 1,559. He is also fourth nationally in receptions-per-game with 9.4. He has caught 15 touchdown passes on the season which ranks fourth nationally and second in program history. This season, he has recorded at least 100 receiving yards in nine of his 11 games, while setting the school record for single game receiving yards when he went for 235 yards against Averett. He then broke that record, as well as the school record for single-game receptions when he caught 16 passes for 268 yards and three touchdowns in the Tigers' 42-34 playoff win over Maryville. Through 11 games, he has caught at least one touchdown pass in all but one. His 1,559 yards also rank second in school history while his career mark of 2,821 yards is fourth best. His 27 touchdown receptions are third in school history.

Morgan, a two-time All-ODAC pick, has made life difficult on opposing quarterbacks, breaking up an ODAC-high 13 passes to go with two interceptions. He's tallied 42 return yards while scoring a touchdown against Guilford. He's also recorded 30 tackles, two of which were for loss.

Doggett had a breakout year at linebacker, tying Ikwild for a team-high 98 stops with a team-leading 58 solo stops. The junior also leads the team in tackles-for-loss (13.0), fumble recoveries (3), and forced fumbles (2). He's also intercepted one pass and broken up four more. Doggett earned ODAC Player of the Week honors after his performance against Coast Guard.

The Touchdown Club of Richmond Award winners, along with the winners of the Bill Dudley Award and the Willie Lanier Award, will be honored at the annual Dudley / Lanier Award Banquet.  The banquet will be held on Wednesday, December 4, at 7:30 p.m. at the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump.  Tickets are $40.00 and may be purchased by contacting Ron Axselle, e-mail:

Ferrell Shines at Pro Day
March 19, 2014 Ferrell Shines at Pro Day
Walker Named Lanier Finalist
December 2, 2013 Walker Named Lanier Finalist
Eight Turnovers Doom the Tigers
September 14, 2013 Eight Turnovers Doom the Tigers
Football Names 2013 Captains
January 23, 2013 Football Names 2013 Captains